Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
Scopus Web of Science® Altmetric
Type: Journal article
Title: A Randomized, Placebo-Controlled Trial of Pentoxifylline on Erythropoiesis-Stimulating Agent Hyporesponsiveness in Anemic Patients With CKD: The Handling Erythropoietin Resistance With Oxpentifylline (HERO) Trial
Author: Johnson, D.
Pascoe, E.
Badve, S.
Dalziel, K.
Cass, A.
Clarke, P.
Ferrari, P.
McDonald, S.
Morrish, A.
Pedagogos, E.
Perkovic, V.
Reidlinger, D.
Scaria, A.
Walker, R.
Vergara, L.
Hawley, C.
Citation: American Journal of Kidney Diseases, 2015; 65(1):49-57
Publisher: Elsevier
Issue Date: 2015
ISSN: 0272-6386
Statement of
David W. Johnson, Elaine M. Pascoe, Sunil V. Badve, Kim Dalziel, Alan Cass, Philip Clarke, Paolo Ferrari, Stephen P. McDonald, Alicia T. Morrish, Eugenie Pedagogos, Vlado Perkovic, Donna Reidlinger, Anish Scaria, Rowan Walker, Liza A. Vergara and Carmel M. Hawley, on behalf of the HERO Study Collaborative Group
Abstract: Abstract not available
Keywords: Anemia; chronic kidney disease (CKD); darbepoetin; drug sensitivity; epoetin; erythropoiesisstimulating agent (ESA); ESA hyporesponsiveness; ESA resistance index (ERI); erythropoietin; pentoxifylline; hemoglobin; dialysis; randomized controlled trial
Description: The HERO Study Collaborative Group comprises the Trial Management Committee (Emmanuel d’Almeida [Department of Nephrology, John Hunter Hospital, Newcastle, Australia], Rob Fassett [Department of Nephrology, Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital, Brisbane, Australia], Carl Kirkpatrick [Center for Medicine Use and Safety, Monash University, Melbourne, Australia], Richard Phoon [Department of Nephrology, Westmead Hospital, Sydney, Australia], and the members of the Writing Committee); the Data and Safety Monitoring Board (Andrew Tonkin [Chair; Department of Epidemiology & Preventive Medicine, Monash University, Melbourne, Australia], Andrew Forbes [Statistician; Department of Epidemiology & Preventive Medicine, Monash University, Melbourne, Australia], Adeera Levin [Department of Medicine, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada], David C. Wheeler [Center for Nephrology, Royal Free and University College Medical School, London]); the Investigators (Meg Jardine, Jenny Burman, Samantha Hand [New South Wales: Concord Repatriation General Hospital]; Emmanuel D’Almeida, Leanne Garvey [John Hunter Hospital]; Michael Suranyi, Margaret Gilbert [Liverpool Hospital]; Zoltan Endre, Katheen McNamara [Prince of Wales]; Paul Snelling, Jenny Burman, Samantha Hand [Royal Prince Alfred Hospital]; Kumar Mahadevan, Andrea Pollock [Queensland: Nambour General Hospital]; David Johnson, Diana Leary [Princess Alexandra Hospital]; Sharad Ratanjee, Julie Kirby [Royal Brisbane Women’s Hospital]; Rajiv Juneja, Kathy Hill [South Australia: Flinders Medical Center]; Natasha Cook, Pascal Bisscheroux [Victoria: Austin Health]; Lawrence McMahon, Annette Kent [Eastern Health Integrated Renal Service- Box Hill Hospital]; Eugenie Pedagogos, Matija Raspudic [Royal Melbourne Hospital]; Paolo Ferrari, Uli Steinwandel [Western Australia: Fremantle Hospital]; Sharan Dogra, Susan Pellicano [Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital]; and the Project Management Team (Alicia Morrish, Elaine Pascoe, Peta-Anne Paul-Brent, Donna Reidlinger, Anish Scaria, Liza Vergara [Australasian Kidney Trials Network, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia]). The authors listed on the first page of this article constitute the HERO Trial Writing Committee.
Rights: Crown Copyright © 2014 Published by Elsevier Inc. on behalf of the National Kidney Foundation, Inc. All rights reserved.
DOI: 10.1053/j.ajkd.2014.06.020
Grant ID:
Appears in Collections:Aurora harvest 3
Public Health publications

Files in This Item:
There are no files associated with this item.

Items in DSpace are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.