Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
Scopus Web of Science® Altmetric
Type: Journal article
Title: Prototype muon detectors for the AMIGA component of the Pierre Auger Observatory
Author: Aab, A.
Abreu, P.
Aglietta, M.
Ahn, E.
Al Samarai, I.
Albuquerque, I.
Allekotte, I.
Allison, P.
Almela, A.
Alvarez Castillo, J.
Alvarez-Muñiz, J.
Alves Batista, R.
Ambrosio, M.
Aminaei, A.
Anastasi, G.
Anchordoqui, L.
Andrada, B.
Andringa, S.
Aramo, C.
Arqueros, F.
et al.
Citation: Journal of Instrumentation, 2016; 11(2):1-26
Publisher: IOP Publishing
Issue Date: 2016
ISSN: 1748-0221
Statement of
The Pierre Auger collaboration
Abstract: AMIGA (Auger Muons and Infill for the Ground Array) is an upgrade of the Pierre Auger Observatory to extend its range of detection and to directly measure the muon content of the particle showers. It consists of an infill of surface water-Cherenkov detectors accompanied by buried scintillator detectors used for muon counting. The main objectives of the AMIGA engineering array, referred to as the Unitary Cell, are to identify and resolve all engineering issues as well as to understand the muon-number counting uncertainties related to the design of the detector. The mechanical design, fabrication and deployment processes of the muon counters of the Unitary Cell are described in this document. These muon counters modules comprise sealed PVC casings containing plastic scintillation bars, wavelength-shifter optical fibers, 64 pixel photomultiplier tubes, and acquisition electronics. The modules are buried approximately 2.25 m below ground level in order to minimize contamination from electromagnetic shower particles. The mechanical setup, which allows access to the electronics for maintenance, is also described in addition to tests of the modules' response and integrity. The completed Unitary Cell has measured a number of air showers of which a first analysis of a sample event is included here.
Description: Simon G. Blaess, Roger W. Clay, Bruce R. Dawson, Trent D. Grubb, Thomas A. Harrison, Maximus D. Malacari, Phong H. Nguyen, Steven J. Saffi, Fred Sarazin, Patrick van Bodegom, are members of The Pierre Auger collaboration.
Rights: © 2016 IOP Publishing Ltd and Sissa Medialab srl
DOI: 10.1088/1748-0221/11/02/P02012
Grant ID: ARC
Appears in Collections:Aurora harvest 3
Physics publications

Files in This Item:
There are no files associated with this item.

Items in DSpace are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.