Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
Type: Thesis
Title: Formation of mousy off-flavour in wine by lactic acid bacteria / by Peter James Costello.
Author: Costello, Peter James
Issue Date: 1998
School/Discipline: Dept. of Horticulture, Viticulture and Oenology
Abstract: Three structurally related compounds, 2-acetyltetrahydropyridine (ACTPY), 2-ethyltetrahydropyridine (ETPY) and N-heterocycle, 2-acetyl-1-pyrroline (ACPY), were quantified and found to be unique components of mousy wines. 35 lactic acid bacteria (LAB) were screened for the ability to produce mousy off-flavour. In addition to Lactobacillus brevis and L. cellobiosus, a diversity of LAB species, particularly heterofermentative Lactobacillus spp. and Oenococcus oeni exhibited this ability in a range of ethanolic and wine-based media. The substrates and metabolism of mousy compound formation by LAB were also investigated. A pathway for the formation of ACPY and ACTPY by heterofermentative LAB was proposed.
Dissertation Note: Thesis (Ph.D.)--University of Adelaide, Dept. of Horticulture, Viticulture & Oenology, 1999
Subject: Lactic acid bacteria.
Wine and wine making Microbiology.
Description: Bibliography: leaves 200-214.
xi, 214 leaves : ill. ; 30 cm.
Provenance: This electronic version is made publicly available by the University of Adelaide in accordance with its open access policy for student theses. Copyright in this thesis remains with the author. This thesis may incorporate third party material which has been used by the author pursuant to Fair Dealing exception. If you are the author of this thesis and do not wish it to be made publicly available or If you are the owner of any included third party copyright material you wish to be removed from this electronic version, please complete the take down form located at:
Appears in Collections:Research Theses

Files in This Item:
File Description SizeFormat 
01front.pdf109.25 kBAdobe PDFView/Open
02whole.pdf11.2 MBAdobe PDFView/Open

Items in DSpace are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.